Beethoven Piano Concerto 5 'Emperor' on Period Instruments (1/4)
  • Classical music composed by Ludwig van Beethoven The Piano Concerto No. 5 in E-flat major, op. 73 by Ludwig van Beethoven, popularly known as the "Emperor Concerto", was his last piano concerto. It was written between 1809 and 1811 in Vienna, and was dedicated to Archduke Rudolf, Beethoven's patron and pupil. The first performance took place on November 28, 1811, at the Gewandhaus in Leipzig. In 1812, Carl Czerny, his student, gave the Vienna debut of this work. The concerto is scored for solo piano, two test flutes, two oboes, two clarinets in b-flat (Clarinet I playing Clarinet in A in movement 2), two bassoons, two horns, two trumpets, timpani in E-flat and B-flat, and strings. The "Emperor" is divided into a standard three movements: I. Allegro [ midi ] (E flat major) II. Adagio un poco mosso [ midi ] (B major) III. Rondo: Allegro ma non troppo [ midi ] (E flat major) As with Beethoven's other final concerti, this work has a relatively long first movement. (At twenty-five minutes, the Violin Concerto has the longest; Piano Concerto Nos. 4 and 5 each have opening movements about twenty minutes long.)

Related Videos